Little Boxes on the Hillside

Completely didn’t notice I stole your title. Wow, no wonder that song was in my head.

Anyways, it’s kind of insulting that you would think that there is no possible way I would understand what you’re saying or where you’re coming from because I’ve had a similar outlook on education my entire life. I try my best to make school an experience for me rather than getting my primary source of knowledge. I think you would like my philosophy teacher, she’s somewhat of a hippie, overly cares about sustaining our planet to the point where she makes beach clean up extra credit, but there is something about her that seems a lot like you, even though I hate her class.

Every time we leave her classroom she says something along the lines of: “Make sure you move the desks back to their original position so that the next cave dwellers feel welcomed to the cell”. I think I fucked that up a lot, but basically she thinks of education as a jail, and I completely agree with it. We are all put into rooms with hardly any windows and we’re basically tied to our desks for the hour of lecture where maybe 2 kids in the entire class actually care what the teacher is saying, the rest of us are there because society makes us sit there in order to become “successful”.

Every person I’ve ever talked to who owns a business, or has a job where they make a lot of money tell me that they went to school for 8+ years, or whatever it takes to have a “good education”, and they learn more than double the amount of material during the first week of their job. Everything has to be hands on. Just because someone has knowledge on how to do something, doesn’t mean they actually know how to do it. Schools make us sheep, we all have to do the same thing to please the teacher enough to get a passing score.

The thing that bothers me most is how teachers, just because they “know” more or have more years on us, can judge us and tell us if we understand a concept correctly, when it has been proven that there is no right and wrong answer. Now this is why I don’t like my philosophy teacher all that much, she’s kind of awesome with her views, but if you disagree with her, she looks down at you like you have no idea what you’re talking about. And since it is a philosophy class, anything could be…

I don’t have too much time to write this right now, but I wanted to show you the thing I watched during psych class yesterday. The way she talked about energy kind of reminded me of you but it what in a completely scientific manner, instead of the spiritual way of thinking about being one with everything. It’s 20 minutes long, and her voice is pretty obnoxious for the most part, but you should watch it anyways. K.

Elana

P.S. How do you document real life when real life’s getting more like fiction each day?

Leave a Reply

