Playing Dress-Up

Today isn’t as bad. But the day just started for me. Nothing has really happened yet.

Who I’ve talked to today:

  • My mother (on the phone)
  • Our house guest (I said Hi)
  • My cats (we probably had the most interaction…)

I am so cool.

So I really need to see Wicked again. Have you listened to any of the songs lately? They are so amazing. They astound me over and over again.

Omg! I just checked the cast for LA! Mamie Parris (Judy Bernly from our cast in the OC) is going to be Elphaba! And from the way she belted in 9 to 5, I’d say that I trust her with the role. Also, the Glinda definitely looks like a Glinda just from her headshot.

So I just did a couple practice face paints to test it out for my costume. Surprisingly, the hardest part was getting the base right. The first time I did it, I just looked like I recently ingested an unhealthy amount of Pepto Bismol. Second time was almost perfect. I also had issues getting the eyebrows right, but I think I know exactly what I’m going to do now. I perfected the lips, but I still need to work on the smile extension. Stripes are pretty OK; the only hard part is getting them symmetrical. The eyes are easy enough, since my false eyelashes are going to be doing most of the work anyway.

I am almost entirely done with my costume. Other than the new pair of ears I’m making, all I need to do is buy elastic to put into the waist of my pants. Then I’m done! I finished my top yesterday. The only problem is that I really don’t have boobs when I wear it, because I can’t use a bra with it.

The only other extra things that I may or may not do is finish tie-dying my arm-tights and make my wire tail. But those are the extra extra things that aren’t necessary for the costume — would be nice, but no necessary. So I guess I’ll work on those if or when I want to. I still haven’t quite figured out how I would do the tail. Please share your ideas if you have any!

Soooo I should be a costume designer. But like a private one. And I’d sell my costumes online for like Anime conventions or cosplay or Halloween. And they’d be awesome and legit. I seriously just want to make a bunch of awesome costumes. I don’t want to make regular clothes, really. That’s kind of boring. But good news: when we have our awesome theater company when we’re older, it’s going to be so legit because of our costumes. Becasue I’m rather proud of my first costume attempt. It could only get better, right?

I wish there were four Halloweens per year. Or at least four events where it’s accepted worldwide (or at least nationally) that you dress up for the day. Am I a dork for loving Halloween just because of dressing up? I’ve always been like that. I flippin love dressing up. I don’t care about the candy or the parties or whatever. Even the decorations are awesome. It’s like the whole city because a stage, and we’re all part of the same play.

What are you doing for your costume? Have you figured it out yet? I want to help make something!

Blog Bonus:

How frickin cute is that?! I think I want to make costumes for my cats eventually.

And this! I could die:

 

Animals are so cute. I can’t get over it.

Costumes are awesome too. I can’t get over that either.

Now check out the cats!

 

And this one is just plain cute!

 

Yup. It’s decided. I have to make my cats costumes next year.

 

Sab

Leave a Reply

